Faith

There are several people very near and dear to my heart facing some major challenges right now. As there were weighing heavy on my heart this morning and I was calling out to the great healer above, this word Faith just came to my mind and I knew I had to write about it.

What is Faith? Well Webster dictionary defines the word Faith as:   

1. confidence or trust in a person or thing: faith in another’s ability.
2.

belief that is not based on proof: He had faith that the hypothesis would be substantiated by fact.
3.

belief in God or in the doctrines or teachings of religion: the firm faith of the Pilgrims.
4.

belief in anything, as a code of ethics, standards of merit, etc.: to be of the same faith with someone concerning honesty.
5.

a system of religious belief: the Christian faith; the Jewish faith.
 
Great! What does this all mean in our everyday lives? You might also be thinking you didn’t come here for a vocabulary lesson lol.
 
Well I am a Christian and I believe in God, Jesus and the Holy spirit. I was raised to believe that if anything bad ever happened to me it was because I was not a “strong” enough believer or I didn’t pray hard enough or have enough faith. I spent lots of years beating myself up, wondering how to have the kind of faith that would make mountains move. And what was so wrong with me?
 
Then I became an adult and I started learning that God loves us. I believe he does not punish us for not praying hard enough or believing hard enough. This is all new to me. I still have more questions than answers, but this is what I was starting to believe.
 
Then I got sick. MR. MG reared his ugly head. And do you know that there are still some people even in my immediate family that think I can just pray it away. That I am sick because I do not have enough faith?
 
Then my sweet baby Noah came along. He was very sick, life threatening heart condition sick. Was I being punished for something I had done? Was he sick because my faith was not strong enough? I am learning that’s now how it works. At least not for me.
 
I have many people ask me how I made it through those rough patches with Noah. They say they don’t think they could handle it. I really have not explanation. Except maybe Faith?
 
Did I question God? ABSOLUTELY! Did I wonder why he would let something like this happen to my sweet baby boy? YOU BET!!
 
However, I also prayed like I have never prayed before. And I had a sence of peace. I knew no matter what happened somehow it would all be ok. Guess what? It was. We had a first hand look at several miracles. That sweet baby boy that we weren’t sure was going to make it through his first 24 hours is now a thriving, mischievous three-year old. Some people call it lucky…I say we are blessed.
 
So that brings us back to Faith. To me having faith does not mean you can’t question, or doubt, or wonder. We are only human after all. God knows this, he expects this, he created us he knows we are not perfect. However, he loves us anyway! How amazing is that? He loves us anyway!
 
Having faith to me means trusting even through the questions and doubt. Believing it will be ok no matter the outcome. And leaning on the one that created us and loves us unconditionally to see you through.
 
I am learning everyday. I make mistakes. God loves me anyway. I am learning that if I just give him control he will bless me more than I can ever imagine. It may not always be what I think I need or want, but it will always be OK. It will always be his will, I just have to have FAITH!!
 
I pray for my dear ones that are going through unspeakable trails right now. I pray that whatever the outcome they will have peace, and know everything happens for a reason. We may not always understand it. Even in the dark times when we feel alone, God is there. Reach out to him and he will comfort you.
4 thoughts on “Faith

Leave a Reply

