I am not a tree hugger

Some people might get offended but, tree hugger I am not. I like modern-day conviences and honestly don’t really give much thought to the fingerprint I am leaving on the earth. I know its horrible, but its true.

However, I have recently became addicted to a site called Pinterest. Heard of it? I love it! So there are all kinds of cool ideas on there. From food, to crafts, to kids projects, and all kinds of make your own __________.

I have pinned DIY laundry soap, fabric softener, shower cleaner, mildew remover, general cleaner, shampoo, and even deodorant. Now a lot of people make all these products themselves because the ingredients are more natural and not full of toxins that we expose our homes, pets and children to. I have tried a few of these simply because I am curious, and I am all about saving money!

Lets talk about the fabric softener. Its crazy!! Did you know you can use vinegar as a fabric softener? Dont be alarmed once it goes through the rinse cycle you can’t smell the vinegar. However, I love for my clothes to smell fresh and clean after the laundry so when I saw this recipe for fabric softener I had to try it!!!

Basically you use vinegar and hair conditioner! Yep that’s it! I told you it was crazy!

Let me share with you first the basic recipe I found on Pinterest:

6 cups water
3 cups white vinegar
2 cups hair conditioner

Stir it all together. Do not shake it will foam!

I tried this first using Suave Ocean Breeze Family size conditioner. It took the whole bottle. It worked well. However it did not have enough scent for me. Sooooo I changed it a little.

I stopped at the Dollar Store to grab some conditioner, and I stumbled upon Suave Family Size COCONUT!! COCONUT! Who doesn’t like coconut? So I bought two bottles!!

So today I mixed up my new version of this recipe:

6 cups water
3 cups white vinegar
2 Bottles of Family Size Suave Coconut conditioner.

This time I warmed mine on the stove slightly and stirred with a whisk. My original batch didn’t seem to “mesh” well so I thought maybe cooking it lightly would help it all blend together. It worked!! You don’t really need to get it very hot.

Then let it cool and put it in whatever container you choose. I am using one of my old plastic fabric softener bottles.

I used some today and I really like it. My clothes smell clean, there is a faint coconut smell. But mostly just clean and fresh!

I didn’t take pictures. Next time I will.

Let me know if you try this and if it works for you!!

Leave a Reply

